What is PPC?

Perhaps you have heard or seen PPC mentioned but are not sure what it stands for, or you are familiar with the term but want to learn more, or you want to start integrating PPC in your marketing but are not sure where to start.

Whatever the case, if you want to find out more about PPC and how it can benefit your business, read on.

What does PPC stand for?

PPC stands for “pay-per-click” but what does that actually mean? PPC is a model of internet advertising which is used to drive traffic to websites, through paid ads.

An advertiser sets up a campaign to display their ad or link in a certain place on the internet, then pays a fee to the publisher each time the ad is clicked on. One of the most common forms of PPC advertising is on first-tier search engines, such as Google.

What are Google Ads?

If you would like to advertise your website at the top of Google when someone searches for relevant keywords, you would set up a Google Ads campaign with a maximum budget then pay a fee to Google whenever someone clicks on the advertised link.

This means that you are effectively buying visits to your website, rather than relying solely on organic traffic, and you only pay when your link is clicked on.

Try searching something on Google, such as “dog food” or “city breaks”, and take a look at the top search results. If they say “Ad” next to them, the company is using PPC advertising and, if you were to click on their link, they would pay a fee to Google.

Not only can you pay to advertise your website link, but also products, using Google Shopping Ads. Simply select which products you wish to appear at the top of Google, and an image and link to your product will be displayed above the advertised and organic links.

Try searching for an item, such as “black dress” or “coffee table” to see these in action.

How much does PPC cost?

The cost of PPC advertising can vary dramatically. You determine the budget for your PPC campaign, and once the budget runs out, advertising pauses or stops.

The cost per click depends on the search volume and competition for the keywords or search terms which are relevant to your product or business.

If you have a daily budget of £100, and the cost per click is £5, then the ad will stop displaying after it has been clicked on 20 times, until the following day.

What are the benefits of PPC?

There are many benefits to using PPC advertising. The main one being that it can be very cost-effective with a good return on investment (ROI) if optimised.

With PPC advertising, you can guarantee that your website or product will feature on the first page of first-tier search engines when someone searches a relevant term.

You are also likely to get increased exposure and brand awareness with targeted traffic directed to your site, higher click-through rates (CTR), more conversions, and increased revenue.

If your PPC campaigns are set up correctly, then you will see a high return on ad spend (ROAS), which means the average conversion value is higher than the average cost per click.

How to create a successful PPC campaign

To get the best results and return on investment from PPC advertising, a lot of research, monitoring, trial and error, and patience is typically required.

Conducting keyword research is essential for a successful PPC marketing campaign, but can be incredibly time-consuming.

As well as doing initial research prior to starting the campaign, you will also need to continually monitor the results, research, and optimise your list of keywords to achieve the best results.

If you do not have the time or knowledge required to create a successful PPC campaign, you can enlist an agency to help.

A PPC agency can be a game-changer for many businesses – they take care of the marketing so that you can focus on other areas of your business.

At DBS, we understand you want your website to get more visits from people who are likely to buy your products and services, in order to generate more leads and sales to grow your business.

Our qualified PPC specialists have vast knowledge, experience and skills, which they have gained from helping businesses like yours for over 15 years.

You deserve to work with a digital marketing agency you can trust, who get results, and have your company’s increased revenue as their priority, so contact DBS today.

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